Form 8-K





Washington, D.C. 20549







Pursuant to Section 13 OR 15(d) of the

Securities Exchange Act of 1934

Date of Report (Date of earliest event reported): April 24, 2012



Hanesbrands Inc.

(Exact name of registrant as specified in its charter)




Maryland   001-32891   20-3552316

(State or other jurisdiction

of incorporation)



File Number)


(IRS Employer

Identification No.)

1000 East Hanes Mill Road

Winston-Salem, NC

(Address of principal executive offices)   (Zip Code)

Registrant’s telephone number, including area code: (336) 519-8080



Check the appropriate box below if the Form 8-K filing is intended to simultaneously satisfy the filing obligation of the registrant under any of the following provisions:


¨ Written communications pursuant to Rule 425 under the Securities Act (17 CFR 230.425)


¨ Soliciting material pursuant to Rule 14a-12 under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14a-12)


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 14d-2(b) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.14d-2(b))


¨ Pre-commencement communications pursuant to Rule 13e-4(c) under the Exchange Act (17 CFR 240.13e-4(c))




Item 5.07. Submission of Matters to a Vote of Security Holders.

The 2012 Annual Meeting of Stockholders (the “Annual Meeting”) of Hanesbrands Inc. (the “Company”) was held on April 24, 2012 in New York, New York. A total of 88,092,944 shares of the Company’s common stock (approximately 90.3% of all shares entitled to vote at the Annual Meeting) were represented at the Annual Meeting, in person or by proxy. Set forth below are the final voting results for each of the proposals submitted to a vote of the stockholders.

Election of Directors

The stockholders of the Company elected each of the director nominees proposed by the Company’s Board of Directors. The voting results were as follows:


Name of Nominee

   Votes For      Votes Withheld      Abstentions      Broker Non-votes  

Lee A. Chaden

     76,903,874         1,992,219         —           9,196,851   

Bobby J. Griffin

     76,920,535         1,975,558         —           9,196,851   

James C. Johnson

     76,779,759         2,116,334         —           9,196,851   

Jessica T. Mathews

     76,919,608         1,976,485         —           9,196,851   

J. Patrick Mulcahy

     76,766,687         2,129,406         —           9,196,851   

Ronald L. Nelson

     75,256,354         3,639,739         —           9,196,851   

Richard A. Noll

     76,480,782         2,415,311         —           9,196,851   

Andrew J. Schindler

     76,571,136         2,324,957         —           9,196,851   

Ann E. Ziegler

     76,933,115         1,962,978         —           9,196,851   

Ratification of Appointment of Independent Registered Public Accounting Firm

The stockholders of the Company ratified the appointment of PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP as the Company’s independent registered public accounting firm for the Company’s 2012 fiscal year. The voting results were as follows:


Votes For      Votes Against      Abstentions      Broker Non-votes  
  87,149,179         797,198         146,567         —     

Non-Binding, Advisory Vote Regarding Executive Compensation

The stockholders of the Company approved, by a non-binding, advisory vote, executive compensation as disclosed in the Company’s Proxy Statement for the Annual Meeting. The voting results were as follows:


Votes For      Votes Against      Abstentions      Broker Non-votes  
  74,387,345         3,587,151         921,597         9,196,851   


Pursuant to the requirements of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, the registrant has duly caused this report to be signed on its behalf by the undersigned hereunto duly authorized.


April 26, 2012     HANESBRANDS INC.

/s/ Joia M. Johnson

      Joia M. Johnson
      Chief Legal Officer, General Counsel and Corporate Secretary